Hiatus

by

3 Word Wednesday is on hiatus until further notice.

For the past several months, I haven’t been able to devote as much time as I would like to this, not only in participating myself but also in reading all your entries and generally helping to cultivate 3WW as a writing community.

Thank you for participating. And thanks for understanding.

29 Responses to “Hiatus”

  1. TC Says:

    As someone who has been around for the almost two years (next week? officially this week if you counted the first one that you didn’t name?) 3WW has been going on, I can understand your decision easily.

    That doesn’t mean I won’t miss 3WW – or that I haven’t missed reading your amazing stories and poetry, Bone. It just means you’ll have a basis for starting it back up, should you choose to do so in the future. You did a wonderful job starting and growing this community. Without you, it would have never existed to begin with.

    So thank you.

  2. anthonynorth Says:

    I fully understand your decision, Bone, even if it is a real shame. It’s been a fantastic prompt.

  3. Joyce T. Says:

    I am a newbie, but must say also that you do a great job choosing prompts. Please do restart 3WW, when time allows. I totally understand and sympathize with you being too busy at this time. Yes; thank you. πŸ™‚

  4. lucy Says:

    You’ve helped make wednesday a favorite day!
    No blame, no hard feelings, A hiatus is okay.
    Life gets complicated, things go awry.
    I will sure miss your weekly prompts, (sigh.)

    Thanks for everything Bone! Hope you
    are able to come back to us someday! :))

  5. pjd Says:

    today’s words: bummer, absence, sympathetic

  6. Myrtle Beached Whale Says:

    is anyone else interested in prompting us on Wednesdays?

  7. pieceofpie Says:

    ohh, sadness… thank you for supplying a wonderful 3wWednesday Bones… this was one of my first stops to writing the poetry blog train

  8. Michelle Johnson Says:

    Bone, I’m sorry to hear you’re placing 3ww on hiatus but, I understand fully. I will surely miss coming here every Wednesday even if I hadn’t been writing as regularly. I will definitely return, though, should you decide to start posting the words again. If not, I wish you well in any endeavor you may soon choose. Thanks for allowing me to be a part of the 3ww community. Have a nice day.

  9. ThomG Says:

    Thanks, Bone, for the creative outlet. Everyone deserves a break now and again, and I hope you’ll be able to come back. Wednesdays won’t be Wednesday without those three words. And if people are interested in keeping 3WW going, I’ll gladly step up.

  10. Daily Panic Says:

    I feel my schedule filling up also. I will miss this. Wednesdays will not be the same. Bone, ROLL TIDE!
    I have enjoyed this prompt a lot. If someone pics it back up, I’ll still participate. πŸ™‚

  11. gautami tripathy Says:

    Maybe we need the break!

    I am gonna miss it though!

    However, you need the hiatus!

  12. Lela B Says:

    I was a newbie too. But I thoroughly enjoyed it. Enjoy your break and I hope you get everything accomplished you need to accomplish. Your writing has been very accomplished and memorable.

  13. gautami tripathy Says:

    I took on pjd’s offer! Just added the three words to a post I had written. Is that ok?

    πŸ˜€

    http://firmlyrooted.blogspot.com/2008/09/writers-state-of-mind.html

  14. susan Says:

    I can definitely relate to your decision. I’ve enjoyed reading here.

    pdj wrote something for today, but will Thom be taking over on a regular basis? Please let us all know. I’d like to participate if Thom or another regular takes over.

  15. susan Says:

    Personally, I think Thom would do a great job while Bone takes a break.

    Can we nominate or agree to look to Thom’s blog each Wednesday?

  16. pia Says:

    Bone –thanks for the memories πŸ™‚ I mean thanks for showing me that I can write fiction

    I haven’t been able to participate most of the summer and won’t be able to until 10/07–not to be precise or anything but if Thom does it I would love to

    Though Bone you have an incredible knack for picking great words. And what did you tell me? It only takes two minutes–especially when one parent is just in the hospital, one just out and a sister about to have Nephew Bone:)

  17. Gemma Says:

    Bone ~ I have been a regular here for quite some time now and will definitely miss the challenge! I have loved it so much. But everyone needs to think of the toll on quality of life or creative freedom. If that quality is questionable, then its time to re-think options.

    We all support you Bone because you have given us such a wonderful opportunity to write.

    If ThomG steps up or pjd (or both?) that is so good.

  18. Myrtle Beached Whale Says:

    Ready for your prompt ThomG.

  19. Amarettogirl Says:

    Bone,
    I respect and cherish those who can draw lines and claim what they need- in a clear and loud voice. Good for you- for taking this hiatus…on the other hand – I agree with the others, my wednesdays WILL NOT be the same. Where ever I wandered across the globe on wednesdays, I knew where to go. I’m a teacher and even my students get excited for me and remind me – ‘Hey -mS. D today is 3ww!!’ So please consider this a valuable contribution that one day you may return to – please. As for ThomG. steppin up – count me in please!

  20. Veens Says:

    Enjoy your ‘hiatus’.

    Will miss the prompts.

    Do come back soon πŸ™‚

    Take good care!

  21. ThomG Says:

    I went ahead and used pjd’s words for 3WW.

    Human Carnival

  22. LibraryGirl Says:

    I will miss you all! I just kind of lurked, but the couple of times I did write, you all so kind!
    Marlene

  23. Carlos Says:

    Sorry to see it end. I haven’t written anything here for quite some time, but very much enjoyed it when I did; and reading everyone’s writings.

    Last year I told a friend of mine, a 7th grade English teacher, about it. She liked it so much, she started it in her class. So Three Word Wednesday continues here in San Antonio.

    Cheers

  24. susan Says:

    Have you posted a poem, short shorty, essay or some visual art that just didn’t get the love you’d hoped? We share our work and hope others enjoy it. Online, comments let us know our work has been read and appreciated.

    To celebrate older posts that got zero or few comments, leave a link at Little Lovin’ Mondays, hosted by Susan at Black-eyed Susan’s. And to show even greater appreciation for your fellow bloggers, how about commenting to a new piece while you there.

  25. Christine Says:

    Bone, I’ve been a bad blogging friend. I’ll be by little nibbler soon.

  26. Linda Jacobs Says:

    Like Amarettogirl I also used the words in my high school English classes each week. The kids loved them. And I did, too!

    I had a break from writing most of the summer so can totally understand that you need some time away from it. Enjoy yourself and hope to see you back some day!

    Thanks!

  27. watermaid Says:

    Like Linda, I have just returned from a three month’s break from writing and blogging, so, although I’m disappointed, I too fully understand. Thank you so much for providing us with such good words as writing prompts.

    Best wishes,
    Carole

  28. Just Someone Says:

    Thank you for all the wonderful prompts so far; though a new-regular, I eagerly look forward to Wednesday to look up here and write on it:)

    thank you for your efforts! And, as you say, we do understand… and we enjoy participating!!

    Good luck!

  29. vesper de vil Says:

    I just recently discovered you. I hope your blog is alive and thriving for a long, long time to come.

Leave a Reply

